A nonprofit professional association for attorneys
(713) 759-1133

VLI – State & Local Organizations Links

Veterans Legal Initiative Links

STATE & LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS

Lone Star Veterans Association
The vision of the Lone Star Veterans Association is to prevent veteran unemployment, substance abuse, family challenges, homelessness, crime and suicide by coordinating direct and innovative programs. This organization is one of the largest of its kind in servicing veterans from Iraq and Afghanistan in Texas. Contact: T.J. Hart, tjhart@lonestarveterans.org

City of Houston Office of Veterans Affairs
Assists veterans to ensure they, and their dependents or survivors, receive access to the entitlements promised to them by a grateful nation.
Contact Buddy Grantham, Director, (832) 393-0992

Michael E. DeBakey VA Hospital
Serves as the primary health care provider for almost 130,000 veterans in southeast Texas

TexVet
A referral service giving information to Texas veterans about benefits, organizations, universities and other services

Texas Veterans Commission
The state appointed advocate of Texas veterans as they attempt to secure the benefits rightfully earned in exchange for their service in our nation’s armed forces. Includes claims representation, education, employment and assistance.

Texas Veterans Land Board
This organization administers benefits exclusively to veterans by providing low-interest, long-term loans

Texas Veterans Portal
A website that acts as a directory for veterans and their families to find services and benefit options, including education, employment and health benefits.

COUNTY VETERAN SERVICE OFFICERS FOR VLI COUNTIES:

Bell County, Samuel Keels: (254) 933-5915
Brazoria County, Sonya Broadway: (979) 864-1289 or (979) 388-1289, sonyab@brazoria-county.com
Chambers County, Terry Norman: (409) 267-9993, tnorman@co.chambers.tx.us
Fort Bend County, Dwight Marshall: (281) 341-4550, dwight.marshall@co.fort-bend.tx.us
Galveston County, F.W. Frank Furleigh: 409 766 2448, frank.furleigh@co.galveston.tx.us
Grimes County, Steve Seymour: (936) 873-4490, steve.seymour@co.grimes.tx.us
Hardin County, William Sell: (409) 246-5125, bill.sell@co.hardin.tx.us
Harris County, Vincent C. Morrison: (281) 876-6601, vincent.morrison@csd.hctx.net
Jefferson County, Hilary L. Guest: (409) 835-8604
Liberty County, Richard Ayers, (936) 336-4558, Ex 235, richard.ayers@co.liberty.tx.us
Montgomery County, Kay L. Lee, (936) 539-7842, vetsvc@mctx.org
Orange County, F.E. Gene Smith, (409) 745-1535, mpowell@co.orange.tx.us
San Jacinto County, Gerald Duncan, (936) 653-2270, gerald.duncan@co.san-jacinto.tx.us
Travis County, Olie L. Pope, Jr.: (512) 854-9340, steven.thurman@co.tom-green.tx.us
Walker County, Gerald L. Norwood, (936) 435-2474, gnorwood@co.walker.tx.us
Waller County, Garret P. Nemec, (979) 826-7733, g.nemec@wallercounty.us

EMPLOYMENT LINKS FOR VETERANS:

http://wrksolutions.com/jobs/veteranservices.html
A website created and sponsored by the Texas Workforce Commission that serves as a job resource and matching system for the unemployed. It is a website for both employers seeking to hire and those seeking employment.

http://veterans.portal.texas.gov/en/Pages/employment.aspx
The Texas Veterans Commission offers employment services to Texas veterans and helps employers find qualified veteran job applicants. The goal of these services is to match veteran job seekers with the best employment opportunities available. Uses WorkinTexas.

http://www.vetslist.us/
Owned and operated by the Lone Star Veterans Association. This is an online career website for veterans seeking employment in Texas.

http://www.houstontx.gov/vetaffairs/employment.html
Database for employment links

garcinia cambogia

HBA Office

Houston Bar Association
1111 Bagby, FLB 200, Houston, TX 77002
(713) 759-1133 | Fax: (713) 759-1710