The Kay Sim Endowment: Maintaining Access to Justice in Houston


The Kay Sim Endowment - header

Kay Sim headshot

Make Justice Happen for the Next 150 Years

The Houston Bar Association celebrates its 150th anniversary in 2020. In recognition, the Houston Bar Foundation is proud to announce the Kay Sim Endowment for Access to Justice. The HBF has set a goal of raising $2.5 million. The campaign will culminate at the Annual Gala celebrating the Houston Bar Association’s 150th Anniversary on May 14, 2020.

The Kay Sim Endowment, when added to the HBF’s existing funds, will sustain future annual funding for pro bono legal services in Harris County through Houston Volunteer Lawyers. The Campaign honors retired Executive Director Kay Sim, who has dedicated her 40-year career with the Houston Bar Association to helping Houston lawyers and the people they serve.

Read the press release


Houston Lawyers Helping People in Need

The Houston Bar Foundation is the largest annual funding source for the Houston Volunteer Lawyers. Last year, Houston lawyers donated over $5 million in legal services, including:
A volunteer attorney sits with clients at an HVL legal clinic

  • Advising over 6,000 low-income Houstonians, over 2,000 of whom were United States veterans.
  • Assisting over 10,000 self-representing litigants in the Harris County Civil Courthouse and Harris County Law Library.
  • Referring more than 1,300 cases to pro bono lawyers for extended pro bono representation.
  • Coordinating over 500 volunteers who donated more than 2,000 hours to provide disaster legal services at shelters and relief centers in response to Hurricane Harvey.



Click here to make a payment online



Click here for the printable pledge form.

For more information about the Kay Sim Endowment, contact Mindy Davidson, Executive Director of the Houston Bar Association, at or (713) 759-1133.



Judy & David Beck

Shauna Clark & Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

Lela & Robin Gibbs

T. Mark Kelly & Vinson & Elkins LLP

Christine LaFollette & Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld L.L.P.

Nancy McGregor & Neal Manne

Jason M. Ryan & CenterPoint Energy, Inc.

Sheridan & John Eddie Williams, Jr.




Jane & Doug Bland*

Susan & Barrett Reasoner*

Alexandra & Randall Sorrels


Friends of Kay Sim

Nichole & Benny Agosto, Jr.*

Mary & Jack Balagia*

Susan L. Bickley & Robert Scott

Meredith & Carter Crow

Mindy & Joshua Davidson*

Wendy & Alistair Dawson*

Susan & Jim Hart*

Elizabeth & Bill Kroger*

Carrin Patman & Jim Derrick

Cristina & Robert Rodriguez*

Sandy & Travis Sales*

Denise & John Scofield*

Kay Sim

Travis Torrence & Heath LaPray*


Friends of the Houston Bar Foundation

Susan & Tom Brandt

Keri Brown & Ben Womack

Polly & Stephen Fohn

Lynn & Stewart Gagnon

Tom & Debbie Godbold

Tammie & David Harrell

Lindsey & Greg Heath

Hillary H. Holmes & Matthew Archer

Laura & Jeff Kaplan

Dana & Neil Kelly

Kathy Patrick & Arthur Murphy

Annsley & Christopher Popov

Macey & Harry Reasoner

Sandy & Bill Swenson


Friends of Justice for All

Nancy & Scott Atlas

Page & Gregory Cokinos

Jacquelyn & Collin Cox

Amy Catherine Dinn & Jake Goldstein

Donna Lax-Edison & Andrew Edison

The Hon. Sylvia Matthews & Murray Fogler

Janet Hansen

Cisselon Nichols Hurd & Jim Hurd

Debbie & Frank Jones

Ginny & Richard Mithoff

Judy & Dudley Oldham

Debbie & Kent W. “Rocky” Robinson

Regina Rogers

Karen & Scott Rozzell

The Hon. Frank B. Rynd

Gay & Kenneth R. Wynne


* = Founding members