This committee reviews entries and selects the winners of the annual Harris County Bench Bar Pro Bono Awards. The awards recognize outstanding pro bono work performed during 2018 through any recognized legal services provider or through direct legal representation on behalf of any non-profit that serves the community. A committee of HBA members and members of the Harris County judiciary reviews nominations and selects the recipients in several categories.

A row of guests and honorees at the Bench Bar Pro Bono Awards Ceremony
Congratulations to the 2019 Harris County Bench Bar Pro Bono Awards recipients: Vinson & Elkins LLP; Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld LLP, Powers Law Group, Jordan Turk of Koons Fuller, Ryan Van Steenis of Ajamie LLP; and the Hon. Jane Bland, who received the President’s Pro Bono Award. Keynote speaker was U.S. District Judge Keith P. Ellison, and awards were presented by HBA President Warren Harris and District Court Administrative Judge Robert Schaffer.

Click here for eligibility requirements.

For more information, contact Tara Shockley at or (713) 759-1133.


Committee Volunteer Form (PDF) | Sign up Online

Mr. Warren Harris
Bracewell LLP
711 Louisiana Street, Ste. 2300
Houston, TX 77002
(713) 223-2300

Send Email

Hon. Robert K. Schaffer
152nd Judicial District Court
201 Caroline, 11th Floor
Houston, Texas 77002
(832) 927-2425

Send Email