Constitution Day Readings


The cover of the book What Do You Do With a Voice Like ThatNearly 100 Houston Bar Association volunteers read to classes in 103 elementary schools in the Houston area on Tuesday, September 17, in commemoration of Constitution Day. Attorneys and judges read and discussed the book, What Do You Do with a Voice Like That? by Chris Barton, to 4th and 5th grade students in 19 different school districts at designated times throughout the day. The book follows the life of Texas and U.S. Congresswoman Barbara Jordan, who inspired a nation by using her extraordinary voice and intellect to speak up for justice and equality. Jordan grew up in Houston, in the same 5th Ward neighborhood where some of the schools participating in these readings are located.

Constitution Day is a nationally recognized holiday that commemorates the signing of the U.S. Constitution on September 17, 1787. Educators throughout the U.S. are encouraged to teach students about one of the most important and influential events in American history, which established the many of the rights and freedoms that “We the People” enjoy today. The Houston Bar Association each year provides reading programs and other activities in schools throughout Harris County to make the Constitution come alive for students.

Readings this year were held at various times throughout the day at schools in the Aldine, Alief, Alvin, Channelview, Conroe, Cy-Fair, Deer Park, Fort Bend, Galena Park, Houston, Humble, Katy, Klein, Lamar Consolidated, Pasadena, Sheldon, Spring Branch, Spring, and Tomball school districts, as well as some private schools.




Thank you, readers!


Brenda Adimora Michael Belanger Amy Benya Hon. Francis Bourliot Hon. Lesley Briones
Linda Broocks Joseph Buoni Michael Butera Randi Capone Christie Cardon
Dennis Carter Karan Ciotti Megan Daic Mindy Davidson Angela DeSilva
Kaye DeWalt Cindy Dinh Angela Dixon Travis Dunlap Mynde Eisen
Joanne Ericksen Terri Evans Hon. David Fraga Sarah Frankfort Hon. Kem Frost
Juliana Gaige Marie Garcia Leo A. Carrasco & Richard Garza Connie Gatlin Victoria Gipson
Tara Grundemeier Warren W. Harris Jennifer A. Hasley Hon. Meagan Hassan Misty Hataway-Cone
Catina Haynes Dawn Holiday Kevin Horner Alexis Howard Lewis Wonderland Hudson
Farnaz Hutchins Gary Johnson Sharon D. Jones Daniella Landers Johnetta Lang
Chanler Langham Jennifer LeMaster Casey Little Christine Lu Karen Lukin
Pam Medina & Hon. David Medina Richard Merrill Corey Miller Emily Miller Casey Minnes Carter
Amber Morrison Liz Mylin John Nechman Lisa Nelsen Shayne Newell
Denny Ng Stephanie Ng Michele Oncken Precious Owodunni Ruby Powers
Annette Ramirez Monica Rawlins Mahogane Reed Veronica Rivas-Molloy Ronald Robertson
Meagan Scott Charles Shaw David Simpson John Spiller Kara Stauffer
Mark Stout Cheri C. Thomas Donna Thomisee Connie Vasquez Hon. Joe Villarreal
Rehana Vohra Mark Waite Laranda Walker Jordan Warshauer Koby Wilbanks
Stacy Williams Kelly Woods Tariq Zafar Sarah Zhou  


Thank you to the bar associations that partnered with us for these readings


Houston Northwest Bar Association

Houston Paralegal Association

Pasadena Bar Association


Thank you to participating schools


Aldine ISD: Aldine Education Center, Black Elementary, Calvert Elementary, Carter Academy, Conley Elementary, Cypresswood Elementary, Dunn Elementary, Ermel Elementary, Escamilla Elementary, Francis Elementary, Kujawa Elementary, Ogden Elementary, Smith Academy, Spence Elementary, Thompson Elementary, Wilson Elementary

Alief ISD: Alexander Elementary, Chancellor Elementary, Heflin Elementary, Liestman Elementary, Youens Elementary

Alvin ISD: Bill Hasse Elementary, Marek Elementary, E.C. Mason Elementary

Channelview ISD: Crenshaw Elementary, Schochler Elementary

Conroe ISD: Creighton Elementary

Cy-Fair ISD: Owens Elementary, M. Robinson Elementary

Deer Park ISD: Dabbs Elementary

Fort Bend ISD: Cornerstone Elementary, Highlands Elementary, Lantern Lane Elementary, Meadows Elementary, Mission Glen Elementary, Palmer Elementary, Rosa Parks Elementary, Ridgegate Elementary, Sugar Mill Elementary

Galena Park ISD: Cimarron Elementary, MacArthur Elementary

Houston ISD: Atherton Elementary, Bastian Elementary, Benbrook Elementary, Blackshear Elementary, Codwell Elementary, Crockett Elementary, Cunningham Elementary, E. A. “Squatty” Lyons Elementary, Felix Cook Jr. Elementary, Fondren Elementary, Frost Elementary, Garden Villas Elementary, Harvard Elementary, Helms Elementary, J.R. Harris Elementary, JC Mitchell Elementary, Jefferson Elementary, Kate Bell Elementary, Lockhart Elementary, Looscan Elementary, Mark Twain Elementary, R. Martinez Elementary, McNamara Elementary, Nathaniel Q. Henderson Elementary, Osborne Elementary, Park Place Elementary, Piney Point Elementary, Pleasantville Elementary, Roderick Paige Elementary, Rucker Elementary, Seguin Elementary, Sherman Elementary, Sinclair Elementary, Tijerina Elementary, Walnut Bend Elementary, Whittier Elementary

Humble ISD: Oaks Elementary

Katy ISD: Hutsell Elementary, Polly Ann McRoberts Elementary

Klein ISD: Epps Island Elementary

Lamar Consolidated ISD: Beasley Elementary, Don Carter Elementary, Frost Elementary, Hubenak Elementary, Jackson Elementary, Jane Long Elementary

Pasadena ISD: Frazier Elementary, Jessup Elementary, Matthys Elementary, McMasters Elementary, Meador Elementary

Sheldon ISD: Sheldon Elementary

Spring ISD: Beneke Elementary, Jenkins Elementary

Spring Branch ISD: Cedar Brook Elementary, Rummel Creek Elementary, Thornwood Elementary

Private Schools: Holy Spirit Episcopal, Presbyterian School, St. Jerome Catholic, Trinity Klein Lutheran