Habitat for Humanity

This committee oversees the HBA’s participation in fundraising efforts and organizing volunteer efforts for the building of the annual HBA Habitat for Humanity House.

We are $5,000 away from funding our 23rd build!

Click here to donate online to the 23rd HBA Habitat home build


Click here for the flyer outlining sponsorship levels and benefits. Donations are also welcomed via cash or check made to Houston Bar Foundation with “Habitat 2019-20” in the memo, delivered to the Houston Bar Association, 1111 Bagby Street FLB#200, Houston, Texas 77002. Construction will begin in spring 2021. 



Thank you to all who have contributed to the 23rd home build so far!

(As of 8/27/2020)


Gold Sponsors


Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, LLP

HBA Family Law Section

Haynes and Boone, LLP

Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP

Infinity Reporting Group

HBA Labor & Employment Law Section

Locke Lord LLP

Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

Shook, Hardy & Bacon L.L.P.



Silver Sponsors


Nikki & Benny Agosto, Jr.
HBA Alternative Dispute Resolution Section
HBA Appellate Practice Section
Baker Botts L.L.P.
Wendy Catherine Carmichael
HBA Construction Law Section
Amy Catherine Dinn
John Saul Edwards, Jr.
Greenberg Traurig LLP
HBA Mergers & Acquisitions Section
HBA Oil, Gas & Mineral Law Section
HBA Real Estate Law Section
Kay Sim
Richard L. Sitton
Ryan Street and Associates
Cornelius Sweers
Worldwide Court Reporting
Xact Data Discovery



Bronze Sponsors


BakerHostetler LLP
Heather Brown
George E. Cire, Jr.
Michael Choyke
Douglas D. D'Arche
Patrice Leigh Ferguson
Murray Fogler

Poppi Georges-Massey
Niloufar Hafizi
Nancy Hamren
Carolyn S. Hazel-McConathy
Harry W. Hope
Monica Hwang
Gary C. Johnson

Duane G. Kelley
Kreindler & Associates
Elton Lipnick
Jarrel D. McDaniel
North Law, PC
David J. Passarelli

Oliver Pennington
Marjorie S. Schultz & Associates
William Hughes Usnick
Dominique M. Varner
Connie & John Wallace
Gary Wood



Other Donors


Anna Archer
Kathryn & Mark Artlip
Jim F. Avant
D. Gregory & Sherry W. Baker
Robert David Bernstein
David R. Bires
Blade Energy Partners
Denis Clive Braham
Kaila Brown
Rae V. Calvert
Marie Carlisle
Cassandra Collins
Angela Birch Cox
Rogers Crain
Angelique B. & Scott D. Cunningham
Grayson Davis
Monte S. Donaldson
Hon. Grant Dorfman
Hon. John P. Donovan III
Jeremy Dunbar
Susan Edwards

James V. Felker
James & Ruthmarie Ferguson
Alicia Flarity
Alicia M. Foyt
Sherrie Mayes Gilbert
John H. Glover
Megan Hurd Gordon
Ann & Tom Greene
Donna P. Grill
Hon. Andrew S. Hanen
Hasley Scarano, L.L.P.
Cynthia Heald
Janet & Phil Heppard
Lindsay Hutchinson
Austin Jacobs
Lisa Jamail
Tim Johnson
Sarah Kerrigan
Paul La Raia
Scott Lemond

Lockwood & Jones PLLC
Karl Long
Bob Mace
Alan Magenheim
Charles C. Mason
William McBride
Tara McElhiney
Melanie McKenzie
Mary J. McKerall
Michael W. Mengis
Nanci D. Mohr
Peter Moriarty
Rene Mouledoux
Kathleen Nash
Melissa Navin
Curtis R. Olsen
Lindsey Postula
Anne C. Rice
James L. Rice III
Laurie Gilmer Rigby

Melinda Riseden
Bruce Ruzinsky
Carol Sauceda
Travis J. Sales
Mariann Sears
Victoria Sloan
Jim Mitchell Smith
Kathleen Spangler
Kathleen S. Stone
Samantha Trahan
Annette & David Tripp
Frederick J. Wagner
Robert Walker
Ryan Walton
Stephen Weil
Richard O. Werlein
Hon. Ewing Werlein, Jr.
Joe Wheat
Newton W. Wilson III
Ryan Wooten


A volunteer from Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP poses in front of the build site for the HBAs 22nd Habitat for Humanity home.



2019-2020 Co-Chairs:

Deanna Willson, Locke Lord LLP
James Willson, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP

2020-2021 Co-Chairs:

Tara McElhiney, Morgan Lewis & Bockius LLP
Deanna Willson, Locke Lord LLP

For more information on this committee, contact Bonnie Simmons at bonnies@hba.org or (713) 759-1133.