The cover of the book 'The Nantucket Sea Monster: A Fake News Story' by Darcy Pattison.The HBA Law Week, Lawyers for Literacy and Speakers Bureau Committees invited Houston attorneys and judges to read to elementary students in honor of Law Day, May 1, 2019. Volunteers read The Nantucket Sea Monster: A Fake News Story by Darcy Pattison April 15 – May 10, 2019. Volunteers selected from schedules provided by the schools in March. The book was provided with a script and confirmation and then donated to each school’s library during the reading program.

Together, these volunteers are reading to 101 elementary schools in 22 districts across Harris County.

If you would like to volunteer to read during this event next year, contact Bonnie Simmons at or (713) 759-1133.

Free Speech, Free Press, Free Society - The theme of Law Day 2019


The logo for Mims House Publishing.

Thank you to Mims House Books for providing copies of the book to the HBA at a discounted rate!


Thank you to our readers!

Jillian Beck Lawrence L. Bellatti Julie E. Benes Brad Benoit Amy Benya Hon. Frances Bourliot Hon. Harvey Brown
Michael Butera Randi Capone Christie Cardon Karan Ciotti Collin Cox Helene Dang Mindy Davidson
Anna DeMaggio Angela DeSilva Kaye DeWalt Barney Dill Amanda Duncan Mynde Eisen Joanne Ericksen
Ada Ferrer Mark Flanagan Sarah Frankfort Marguerite Gabriele Tara Grundemeier Niloufar Hafizi Warren Harris
James Harrison Alycia Harvey Jennifer Hasley Catina Haynes Hon. Bill Henderson Bernadette Hernandez-Haby Connell Hess
Hillary H. Holmes Wonderland Hudson Dawn Jenkins Camille Jenman Erin Juvenal Daniella Landers Johnetta Lang
Chanler Langham Jennifer LeMaster Jake Locklear Bri Loughlin Maria Lowry Karen Lukin Hon. Erin Lunceford
Johnie Maraist Richard L. Merrill Otto Meyers III Corey Miller Greg Moore Craig Muessig John Nechman
Shayne Newell Christine Ng Denny Ng J.T. Oldham Barbara Pierce Bryn Poland Trisha Pollard
Meagan Prout Erica Robinson Meagan Scott Rachel Sedita Rina Shah Charles Shaw Kara Stauffer
Rachel Stinson Earl Touchstone Hon. Joe Villarreal Rehana Vohra Mark Waite Jordan Warshauer

Thank you to this year's participating schools!

Anderson Academy (Aldine ISD) Cypresswood Elementary (Aldine ISD) Kujawa Elementary (Aldine ISD) Alexander Elementary (Alief ISD) Chancellor Elementary (Alief ISD) Liestman Elementary (Alief ISD)
Bill Hasse Elementary (Alvin ISD) E.C. Mason Elementary (Alvin ISD) Marek Elementary (Alvin ISD) Pomona Elementary (Alvin ISD) Crenshaw Elementary (Channelview ISD) Schochler Elementary (Channelview ISD)
Creighton Elementary (Conroe ISD) Coulson Tough K-6 Elementary (Conroe ISD) Hairgrove Elementary (Cypress-Fairbanks ISD) Owens Elementary (Cypress-Fairbanks ISD) M. Robinson Elementary (Cypress-Fairbanks ISD) Deer Park Elementary (Deer Park ISD)
Cornerstone Elementary (Fort Bend ISD) Lula Belle Goodman Elementary (Fort Bend ISD) Highlands Elementary (Fort Bend ISD) Lantern Lane Elementary (Fort Bend ISD) Meadows Elementary (Fort Bend ISD) Mission Glen Elementary (Fort Bend ISD)
Palmer Elementary (Fort Bend ISD) MacArthur Elementary (Galena Park ISD) Purple Sage Elementary (Galena Park ISD) Stephen F. Austin Elementary (Goose Creek ISD) Highlands Elementary (Goose Creek ISD) Almeda Elementary (HISD)
Kate Bell Elementary (HISD) Benbrook Elementary (HISD) Browning Elementary (HISD) Codwell Elementary (HISD) Felix Cook Jr. Elementary (HISD) Cunningham Elementary (HISD)
De Chaumes Elementary (HISD) Fondren Elementary (HISD) Garden Oaks Montessori (HISD) Gregory-Lincoln Education Center (HISD) J.R. Harris Elementary (HISD) Helms Elementary (HISD)
Horn Elementary (HISD) Jefferson Elementary (HISD) Lantrip Elementary (HISD) Looscan Elementary (HISD) "Squatty" Lyons Elementary (HISD) MacGregor Elementary (HISD)
J.C. Mitchell Elementary (HISD) J.W. Oates Elementary (HISD) Osborne Elementary (HISD) Roderick Paige Elementary (HISD) Park Place Elementary (HISD) Patterson Elementary (HISD)
Piney Point Elementary (HISD) Pleasantville Elementary (HISD) Roberts Elementary (HISD) Rucker Elementary (HISD) Seguin Elementary (HISD) Sherman Elementary (HISD)
Stevens Elementary (HISD) Tijerina Elementary (HISD) Mark Twain Elementary (HISD) Walnut Bend Elementary (HISD) West University Elementary (HISD) Oaks Elementary (Humble ISD)
Whispering Pines Elementary (Humble ISD) Morton Ranch Elementary (Katy ISD) Eiland Elementary (Klein ISD) Epps Island Elementary (Klein ISD) Nitsch Elementary (Klein ISD) Hubenak Elementary (Lamar CISD)
Huggins Elementary (Lamar CISD) Williams Elementary (Lamar CISD) Frazier Elementary (Pasadena ISD) Jessup Elementary (Pasadena ISD) Matthys Elementary (Pasadena ISD) McMasters Elementary (Pasadena ISD)
Meador Elementary (Pasadena ISD) South Shaver Elementary (Pasadena ISD) Magnolia Elementary (Pearland ISD) Sheldon ISD (Sheldon Elementary) Beneke Elementary (Spring ISD) Heritage Elementary (Spring ISD)
Jenkins Elementary (Spring ISD) Cedar Brook Elementary (Spring Branch ISD) Frostwood Elementary (Spring Branch ISD) Rummel Creek Elementary (Spring Branch ISD) Thornwood Elementary (Spring Branch ISD) Valley Oaks Elementary (Spring Branch ISD)
Stafford Elementary (Stafford MSD) Willow Creek Elementary (Tomball ISD) Holy Spirit Episcopal Presbyterian School of Houston The Shlenker School St. Jerome Catholic
St. Joseph Regional Catholic St. Theresa Catholic Texas Christian School Trinity Klein Lutheran The Village School