HBA Honors Bench Bar Pro Bono Award Recipients

The winners of the 2018 Harris County Bench Bar Pro Bono Awards were honored at a luncheon on Monday, April 30 at the Historic 1910 Courthouse.

Richard Mithoff of Mithoff Law delivered the keynote address as the HBA recognized legal organizations and professionals who gave back to the community in outstanding ways last year.

The Harris County Bench Bar Pro Bono Awards Committee, headed by HBA President Alistair Dawson and the Hon. Robert K. Schaffer, selected this year’s winners from a list of nominees.

The winners are as follows:
Large Firm – Baker Botts L.L.P.
Mid-size Firm – Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld LLP
Small Firm – Berg & Androphy
Individual – Mike Day
Corporation – Exxon Mobil Corporation Law Department
President’s Pro Bono Star – Steven C. Howard

From left to right: Phyllis Young, representing Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP, Mid-size Firm Recipient; Alistair Dawson, President of the Houston Bar Association; Keri Brown, representing Baker Botts L.L.P., Large Firm Recipient; Georgia Dixon of the Dispute Resolution Center, accepting on behalf of Steven C. Howard, recognized with a President’s Pro Bono Star Award for outstanding pro bono mediation services through the DRC; Donna Petrone, representing Exxon Mobil Corporate Legal Department, Corporate Recipient; Mike Day of Trey Yates Law Firm, Individual Recipient; Joel Androphy, representing Berg & Androphy, Small Firm Recipient; Richard Mithoff, keynote speaker; and the Hon. Robert Schaffer, Judge of the 152nd District Court and Administrative Judge, Harris County District Courts.

To read more about the luncheon and the pro bono contributions of this year’s winners, see the program. Click here to see photos from the luncheon.