Established in 2019, the mission of the HBA LGBTQ+ Committee is to exemplify professionalism and to improve the practice of law through inclusion of different perspectives and the participation of LGBTQ+ attorneys and allies.

Click here to watch the March 10 virtual presentation, "Parallels and Differences in the COVID and HIV Pandemics."


The LGBTQ+ Community Legal Symposium from March 11, 2020 is now available for all to watch online for free!

Several people in a virtual conference

HBA LGBTQ+ Committee Coaching Circle Virtual Trivia Night!


February 2020 Newsletter

November 2019 Newsletter


HBA LGBTQ+ Committee Logo





Recent Events

LGBTQ+ Community Legal Symposium - March 11, 2020 at the Montrose Center

Four adults stand in front of a Montrose Center banner

Travis Torrence, Stacey E. Burke, Gary Schumann, and Elliott Beck.

Three adults stand together in front of a wall

Judge Daryl Moore, Former Houston Mayor Annise Parker, and Jessica Rodriguez.

Four adults seated at a round table looking at the viewer

Event attendees enjoyed informative presentations and networking.

Three adults stand in the center of a room

HBA Executive Director Mindy Davidson, Elliott Beck, and SLAGH President Deborah Lawson.


Coaching Circles Speed Networking - January 28, 2020 at Porter Hedges LLP

A man and a woman flank a sign for the LGBTQ Committee

A woman addresses a seated crowd of adults
Adults sit at a table in rows facing one another Adults seated at a table in rows facing each other


2021-2022 Co-Chairs:
Hon. Beau Miller, 190th District Court
Hon. Daryl Moore, Ahmad, Zavitsanos, Anaipakos, Alavi & Mensing, P.C.
Hon. Kim Ogg, Harris County District Attorney

Founding members:
Benny Agosto, Jr.
George Arnold
Emma R. Brockway
Christiana Childers
Mindy Davidson
Heath DeJean
Michael Herman
Lena Laurenzo
Deborah Lawson
Amanda McLeroy
David Miller
The Hon. Alice Oliver-Parrott
Tania Reyes
Jessica Rodriguez
Joseph Sanchez
Charles Shaw
Tara Shockley
Bonnie Simmons
Andrew J. Smith
Ryan Thompson
Samantha Thompson
Travis Torrence
Marcela Varela-Sisley
Bryan Vezey


For more information on this committee, contact Bonnie Simmons at or (713) 759-1133.