Teach Texas

This committee recruits judges, attorneys and Houston area school districts to participate in a project organized by the Texas Supreme Court Historical Society and the State Bar of Texas Law-Related Education Department, based on the book series Taming Texas. The project focuses on 7th grade Texas history classes, with the judges and attorneys teaching students how the state’s court system fits into the larger picture of Texas history, from the days of Stephen F. Austin to the present.

Click here for Teach Texas materials.

2021 Teach Texas Volunteer Flyer

2021-2022 Co-Chairs:

The Hon. Frances Bourliot, Fourteenth Court of Appeals
Colin Pogge, Gibbs & Bruns LLP
Richard F. Whiteley, Bracewell LLP

For more information on this committee, contact Bonnie Simmons at bonnies@hba.org or (713) 759-1133.